The regularly scheduled meeting of Newbury Township Trustees was called to order at 7:00PM, January 6, 2016, with Glen Quigley, Bill Skomrock, Jr. and Jan Blair present.

Myron Pakush District Deputy Director from District 12 and Tom Henderson, Geauga County Manager from ODOT attended the meeting to discuss the opportunity to move the ODOT facility in Burton to Newbury. Newbury indicated to ODOT that we would be very interested in having them move into Newbury. They are looking for a central location on 10-15 acres of land, with sewer and water.

The minutes of December 30, 2015, were approved by a motion from Mr. Skomrock 2nd by Ms. Blair and a unanimous affirmative vote by all.

Ms. Mansfield asked for a motion to approve the December 2015 financials as submitted. Motion to approve the financials was made by Ms. Blair, 2nd by Mr. Skomrock and a unanimous affirmative vote by all.

Mr. Quigley opened the floor for nominations for the office of chairman; Mr. Skomrock nominated Mr. Quigley for Chair with a second by Ms. Blair and a unanimous affirmative vote, with Mr. Quigley abstaining. Mr. Quigley nominated Mr. Skomrock for Vice Chairman with a second by Ms. Blair and a unanimous affirmative vote by all with Mr. Skomrock abstaining.

Mr. Quigley then opened the discussion for department liaisons for 2016. The Trustees indicated that it was working well the way the liaisons have been, and decided they will keep the liaisons the same as they were in 2015.

Ms. Blair will be the liaison for; BWC, health insurance, economic development, CIC, Geauga Safety Council, CRWP alternate, Habitat for Humanity, Township website, Geauga County Health District Chair.

Mr. Skomrock will be the liaison for; Road Department, cemeteries, town hall maintenance, county law enforcement, drug enforcement officer, NIMS, HDAC alternate.

Mr. Quigley will be the liaison for; Zoning, CRWP, Fire Department, parks and rec, representative to area schools, drug enforcement (back up), Road Department (back up).

These liaison positions were approved with a motion by Mr. Skomrock and second by Ms. Blair and a unanimous affirmative vote.

Mr. Zimperman was appointed Road Superintendent, Mr. Joyce Zoning Inspector, by a motion from Ms. Blair, 2nd by Mr. Skomrock and a unanimous affirmative vote by all.

Mary Lee Brezina was appointed to a 5 yr term by motion of Ms. Blair, 2nd by Ms. Skomrock and a unanimous affirmative vote by all.

Lou Tomsic was appointed 5 yr term by Mr. Skomrock, 2nd by Ms. Blair and a unanimous affirmative vote by all.

Mr. Fagan reported for the Fire Dept. December 47 calls for 2015 641. So far for 2016 there were 5 calls.

Mr. Zimperman reported for the Road Dept. shed is stock piled for the year. They have plowed a couple of times. He indicated that there is a shortage of cinders this year. Future needs of the Road Department were discussed.

Mr. Skomrock reported the sheriff's report for December was 156 calls.

Ms. Blair reported that all insurance has been renewed for 2016. She has checked with the insurance and BWC about drug testing. Neither group will manage a drug program for the township. Ms. Blair reported the drive behind the Speedway gas station has been repaired. She has also talked to Kinetico about development for the old Grange Park and the parcel behind the park. They have scheduled a meeting for later this month.

Mr. Mansfield reported for the Park Board that they can close the park during the winter.

Mr. Quigley reported that Chagrin River Watershed Partners will handle both Veteran's Park grants for us at a cost of \$1,500.

Warrants approved by signing prior to or at this Meeting:

31338 1/6/16 Patsy Keyes \$275.00 O

Purchase Orders approved by signing prior to or at this meeting:

Blanket Purchase Orders approved by signing prior to or at this meeting:

PO Number Date Vendor Amount 1-2016 1/5/16 various \$2,000.00

Motion to adjourn was made by Mr. Skomrock and Ms. Blair seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting at 9:14p.m. The motion passed by unanimous vote.

Glen Quigley - Chairman

William Skomrock, Jr.- Vice Chairman

Jan Blair

Marcia Mansfield – Fiscal Officer